Thoughts on Hearing Educators/Teachers?

IrisElena

Reaction score
Hello everyone!

My name is Iris. For the past couple of months I've been doing an internship for my high schools theater program. I've been instructed to do a scene where I play Michelle, a girl who has been deaf since birth.

In order for our scene to be believable, I needed to learn a few signs. But ever since I started learning I can't stop. I have honestly fallen in love with the language and am seriously thinking about pursuing it in the future. I have always wanted to become a teacher, but I have never thought about becoming ASL teacher until now. The only thing that is stopping me is my fear of not being liked/accepted by my students. I

I created this profile to reach out to those of you who have, or have had a hearing teacher. Did any of you like them any less? Is it weird? I'd like to know you guys' general thoughts and experiences with educators who aren't apart of the deaf community.

I know this is not your question but...are there any deaf/hh kids at your school? Why not have an actual deaf/hh kid play the role? That would be a way to be inclusive and you would learn from each other.

I know this is not your question but...are there any deaf/hh kids at your school? Why not have an actual deaf/hh kid play the role? That would be a way to be inclusive and you would learn from each other.
No, we don't.