sound is half of what people see

Dojang

Reaction score
i'm a hearie...who can't even sign? i'd better makes some excuses quick before the mods boot me out the window.

My name's Rex, and i'm a 21 yr old Australian uni student.
long dark curls. glasses. strong hands with chewed fingernails. hauntingly deep blue eyes.
My major is computing, but my passion is animation.

Recently i've been looking into learning sign language. initially, i'd figured that Auslan would be a straightforward and logical transfer of the english language into hand symbols- and that the martial arts classes i took in highschool would give me the coordination and muscle pattern memory to pick it up pretty quick-

but as you know it's not like that at all. to make matters worse- apparently so few people (hearing impaired people included) are using Auslan- it's actually being committed to a dying language registry.

and then i learn that sign languages aren't so much translated english as languages hobbled together from english, natural gesture and heuristic change over the years- with a great emphasis on context, familiarity with an individual and gestural emotion.

it's all a lot to take in...i'm a little lost. i'd appreciate it if someone could clue me in on what language i should learn, if not auslan, and whether anyone knows anyone in hobart/tasmania who could help me learn it.

so in short, i'm here to learn to communicate- and hopefully make some friends along the way. i'm a fan of people. and that's all people- i think it sucks that right now you and me would probably have to fumble for pen and paper just to say hi.

oh hey, and i'd love to share/test out some of my animations with you guys- there's an old animation saying: "sound is half of what people see", but don't let that get you down, i've been doing this stuff for close to a decade, and i can confirm that sight is also half of what people hear.