New member Post - TV Dialogue problems

Audio Pete

Reaction score
My wife is hard of hearing (reverse slope loss) and was struggling to hear the TV especially with speech. The dialogue in programmes and films are increasingly harder to hear as they add ‘atmosphere’ to the speech which results in reduced clarity. Even those with normal hearing, like myself can struggle to hear the dialogue.

Being an professional Electronics Engineer I was sure I could find a solution.

The easiest solution is to use headphones – sound directly to the ears, but unfortunately most TV’s cut out the sound to the speakers when you plug in the headphones.

The solution was to us the ‘Digital Audio Output’ which most flat screen TV’s have nowadays as they can be used to connect a sound bar or Hi-Fi and do not cut out the speakers.

I designed a unit to convert the ‘Digital Audio Output’ to amplified audio for headphones. The sound level is quite loud but most importantly it is extremely clear.

The unit is very small, cheap and easy to use, the headphones have an in-lead volume control so the user can instantly adjust the sound level between speech and music.

My wife has been using the TV headphone amplifier for the last 2 years and would not be without it. My Mum now has age related hearing loss and also uses the amplifier so my dad can turn down the speaker volume.

Both Oticon and Phonak offer wireless TV Links through Bluetooth using the regular streamer that comes with the hearing aids. I am sure most of the major hearing aid manufacturers do the same. Furthermore, turning the captions on is always a good idea.

Hi Swedeafa

The idea was for a cheap easy to use solution (£45). Also my wife didn't want to wear hearing aids in the evening after wearing them all day, but I guess it's personal preference.

Steaming via bluetooth does alter/degrade the audio as it is highly compressed to allow transmition, but of course this can be subjective.