Mom of 2 boys

jesskavs

Reaction score
Hello, My name is Jessika. I am the mom of 2 beautiful boys. Jonah who is Deaf, and Samsun who is hearing. My husband and I have been married for 10 years. We are a hearing family. Jonah was born with a rare genetic disorder called CHARGE syndrome. He was born without any hearing nerves or cochlear shell in his left ear, and with a small cochlear and narrow tube in the Right. He started losing his hearing more and more from 65% at birth, to now haivng 12-15% hearing. He does not wear a hearing aid, as he refuses it. I do not make him. I have been signing myself since I was 10 years old, and have taught him. He is fluent in ASL, and goes to a hearing school with an Interpreter. He is intellectually on par with all the children in his class. He came home with B's for grade 1, and is flourishing in grade 2.
We do not live near the Deaf schools in our province (Ontario), but we have implemented tons of support for him at the school level, even bringing in ASL curriculum for him to learn from.
Jonah has taught his best friends ASL, and the school kids are all interested in the language. His entire class did a song in ASL for the Christmas Concert, and last year, the grade 7 and 8 classes did a song for Jonah for Christmas. It's amazing how inclusive our school is towards him. I love our school.
Jonah has never been given the chance to feel "different" we have immersed him into the Deaf Culture here in our home town. He attends Deaf dances, clubs and has been interacting with Deaf adults. Unfortunately he is the only Deaf child here in our community, so it's hard to have him play with a peer his own age who can communicate fluently. He does well to get his point across to non-signing hearing friends, but I feel bad for him when he has to do that. (He won't allow me to interpret, because who wants Mom around Interpreting during a play date?)