Introducing myself

Ruth Real Estate

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am from the Greater Toronto Area in Ontario, Canada. I am a CODA; my parents are both Deaf and active members of the Deaf Community. In fact my father was responsible for helping closed-captioning to be mandatory in Canada for certain stations and also we had the first TTY in Ontario. I am now a Real Estate Agent with RE/MAX and I work with the Deaf Community as well (my logo is actually the sign for "house"). I do not use interpreters; I simply am fluent in ASL. I know the real estate process can be confusing for hearing people, never mind people with a language barrier. If you have any questions regarding real estate, please feel free to message me, I would be more than happy to help. There is no obligation to use my services, this isn't an advertisement, I just want to be available as a resource for everyone, as someone who grew up in Deaf Culture.

HI Ruth
I am new here too. I'm deaf but what does CODA mean? That's great that your father is involved with getting captioning on Canada stations. I need captions for TV and the phone ( I use Captel) I did use a TTY way back when lol.I have no real estate questions now. I just wanted to say hello.
-Betsy

Welcome to AD :) That is wonderful! CC would be amazing all across Canada. I'm not too knowledgeable if BC has it... but I'm slowly learning.

Question for you Ruth real estate. I was just told that my damage to my ears is irreversible and subsequently am now deaf. I work in real estate in Pennsylvania. Any pointers on how to move forward? I don't know sign language yet. I am horrible at reading lips. I'm curious as to how I make the right steps moving forward.

:wave: I can't believe people on a deaf site don't know what a CODA is..... Anyway...... :welcome:

:wave: I can't believe people on a deaf site don't know what a CODA is..... Anyway...... :welcome: