I work at Alcatraz and I need some advice.

Xander Cat

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

As the topic suggests I currently work at Alcatraz the famous former penitentiary outside San Francisco. I figured I should post here since this is my first time posting in this community. I really have a specific question, at Alcatraz we offer an option for ASL visitors, we have special audio tour equipment which will go through the whole audio tour but with ASL. I have had a number of visitors turn down this option and I think they would have enjoyed it, I feel that some sort of break down in communication is happening here.

The only other thing I want to mention is that I studied ASL in college and I was really happy to have done so. I know my alphabet reasonably well and I'm a little rusty on a lot of the conversational signs but I think I could pick it back up pretty quickly.

I have a coworker who also uses a little bit of ASL and we try to practice with each other. Thank you everyone!

Do you know for a fact that the people who turned down the devices know ASL?

How do these devices work? Is it a video of an interpreter signing the audio?

Do you know for a fact that the people who turned down the devices know ASL?

How do these devices work? Is it a video of an interpreter signing the audio?

Yes it's a video of an interpreter signing the audio. We also offer a printed script of the audio tour and sometimes people take that. And no, I can't ever really know if someone knows ASL or not, but I try to sign with some people and that gives me a good idea.

I'm wondering if the video is actually more of a distraction than the paper copy. Like with the printed copy you can look at it, look away, look at it again, look away. With the video you're kind of stuck looking at it until it's finished. So by the time it's over you haven't really had a chance to look at anything. And it may be time to move on to the next part of the tour. Just a guess.

Hi everyone!