I Don't Want To Use My Voice...

Status
Not open for further replies.

gi_bop

Reaction score
Hi everyone. I am 20 and I started learning Asl last year. I grew up oral and now identify as Deaf. My family is hearing and I've been trying to teach them Asl. They know know only the basics... Barely. But I'm so impatient. I feel like they don't realize how much I want Asl to be my primary language... I don't like my voice. In fact I want to stop using my voice. I only want to use it for my hearing friends- who I don't expect to learn Asl. What are your thoughts on this? I don't know what to do. I'm frustrated...

I guess if everyone has a cell phone you can text to one another . I think you have a long wait for your family to learn ASL , they know you can talk and most likely find this easier to do than learn ASL. How about using ASL while talking , maybe your will pick up some ASL this way.

Maybe they would be willing to take an ASL class as a family or perhaps have a tutor come in one or twice a week to teach everyone.

I guess if everyone has a cell phone you can text to one another . I think you have a long wait for your family to learn ASL , they know you can talk and most likely find this easier to do than learn ASL. How about using ASL while talking , maybe your will pick up some ASL this way.

I agree. I have started signing while talking with my family and it has helped. My niece has really picked up on it and she is interested in going to deaf events with me now. My mom has started to at least finger spell so hopefully she picks up on more as well. Signing while talking will help you keep up with ASL and could trigger the importance of it to your family.