I am a new member

LisaG

Reaction score
Hello My name is Lisa i am new to this but have some concerns. I was born deaf in my right ear. I have 2 aunts and 1 cousin totally deaf. I had a baby girl 10 months ago today and she is also deaf in her right ear as well. I have gone to genetics which i know this is hereditary. I am questioning about having 1 more baby but am concerned if the second baby would come out totally deaf or just deaf in 1 ear. My Husband does not want anymore because of the situation we have gone through with our daughter. He is scared that the next baby will be totally deaf and he would not know how to deal with it. Not sure what to do. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Embrace your deafness. It's not exactly an impediment to enjoying life.

welcome to AD, there's alot of moms on the same boat but they will pop up :)
I was kinda born that way and worn hearing aids since I was 6 months old

Hello My name is Lisa i am new to this but have some concerns. I was born deaf in my right ear. I have 2 aunts and 1 cousin totally deaf. I had a baby girl 10 months ago today and she is also deaf in her right ear as well. I have gone to genetics which i know this is hereditary. I am questioning about having 1 more baby but am concerned if the second baby would come out totally deaf or just deaf in 1 ear. My Husband does not want anymore because of the situation we have gone through with our daughter. He is scared that the next baby will be totally deaf and he would not know how to deal with it. Not sure what to do. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome! I think the sooner you gather information and support, the sooner you'll be able to feel good about the situation. Deafness is not something to be scared about. Empower yourself by gaining knowledge about how to give your child what she needs to be happy, healthy, and successful.

Have you been linked up with Early Intervention yet? It doesn't sound like it...