HOH woman from DC

stacyp

Reaction score
Hello, everybody! Very nice to be here! :)

I am a 40-year-old woman who has just moved from NYC to DC. Around five years ago, I started losing my hearing. It is very hard for me to hear now if the speaker isn't looking at me, and I pretty much can't hear speech in large open rooms (like grocery stores or restaurants) or if there's music playing or background noise. If I'm in a car with someone, I can't understand them if the radio's on. It's gotten to the point where a couple of people have gotten frustrated with me and asked, "Are you deaf??" and it's made me feel really embarrassed and angry.

My mother and aunt are deaf. My mother can hear a little with strong hearing aids, and my aunt just got a CI. They both lost their hearing as young adults; nerve-based deafness runs in the family. I recently saw an audiologist and learned that I have significant high-frequency loss. At first I cried, but then I started learning everything I could about Deaf culture and history, and I now feel hopeful.

My mom and aunt never learned to sign, and I watched the profound isolation that caused. I'm determined to learn ASL, especially now that I live near Gallaudet! (I just moved here from NYC.) I am very interested in hearing your experiences there. I'm intimidated about going there, though -- afraid I might offend Deaf people or that I might not be accepted because I'm hearing. But if my family members are any indication, there will come a point when that's no longer true, and I want to have as many forms of communication available to me as possible.

I am also unable to afford the hearing aids my audiologist told me I need (open fit, digital, noise reduction.) My health insurance doesn't cover them. If any of you can recommend resources in the DC area that might be of assistance in getting them, I would be very grateful. I'm so frustrated every day, because they would make my life SO much better.