Hi everyone! I'm new here :)

ladyluck

Reaction score
Hi people!!.im a teenager who is deaf.
my parents decided earlier in my life that it was best for me not to learn sign language...to be able to communicate better ig with the real world.
so thats about it lol
:) i hope im welcomed here :D :wave:

You are welcome here. Are you completely deaf? Do you wear hearing aids?

:wave: HI ! So what does that make the us deaf and hoh people world , a 'Fake world ' ??? If you want you could always learn ASL on your own .

my parents decided earlier in my life that it was best for me not to learn sign language...to be able to communicate better ig with the real world.
so thats about it lol

I do not like hearing parents especially my hearing parents telling me to go to the oral-only mainstream schools. I struggled trying to make head and tail what the hearing teachers taught us in the hearing classrooms. I was forced not to sign ASL until I graduated from high school.

I hope it is never too late for you to learn ASL which you need very badly. So hopefully you can go to the ASL class and learn how to sign ASL including Deaf Culture.

:welcome: to AllDeaf Forum. Have fun reading and posting here. See you around here. :cool2:

Pls tell your parents that the Deaf world is just as real as the hearing world.

Heyyyyyyy!!!:)

so thats about it lol

Hi! I'm new too. I'm not deaf, but I have a deaf nephew. Is it hard for you not to be able to sign?

In my opinion I think all hearing people should learn basic asl as well, even if they don't know/talk to deaf/HoH people.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using AllDeaf App mobile app

:wave: HI ! So what does that make the us deaf and hoh people world , a 'Fake world ' ??? If you want you could always learn ASL on your own .

Yup! It's not that unusual for dhh teens to learn ASL as a second language.... There's even a summer program at Gally for dhh teens to learn ASL!