Hello, Writer with ASL translation request

Bliss

Reaction score
Hello. I'm a hearing author, working on my third book which features a deaf woman descended from the deaf population of Martha's Vineyard. I've long been interested in deaf culture, but I haven't yet learned ASL. I've recently connected with a professor from Gallaudet who is advising me on my book, but I have a short stanza of a song that I'm wondering if anyone would be willing to provide an ASL translation. It goes as follows:

The water is wide and I can't cross over
And neither have I wings to fly
Build me a boat that can carry two
And both shall row My love and I

On a related note, i'm wondering for deaf or HOH members, if your parents ever signed lullabies for you as children. If you are able to answer my question, please send me a Private message. Thanks very much for any assistance. I'm grateful to have found this site and for the spirit of openness and generosity among its members.

Thanks.

Bliss

why are you writing a book featuring a deaf character when you are not deaf and don't know ASL?

welcome to alldeaf

you can't private message limit on must to 50 posts. would be you share to your posts open discuss:)
you means on ASL talk translation? interesting!

they cannot speaking, I think guess homework?

Hello. I'm a hearing author, working on my third book which features a deaf woman descended from the deaf population of Martha's Vineyard. I've long been interested in deaf culture, but I haven't yet learned ASL. I've recently connected with a professor from Gallaudet who is advising me on my book, but I have a short stanza of a song that I'm wondering if anyone would be willing to provide an ASL translation. It goes as follows:

The water is wide and I can't cross over
And neither have I wings to fly
Build me a boat that can carry two
And both shall row My love and I