Hello all, parent of a toddler

jfair

Reaction score
Hi all, I have a bunch of questions for you all, I hope you can help and thanks in advance. My wife and I have a 3 year old with sensorineural hearing loss, mild 80% hearing in her right ear and moderate 50% in her left ear. We have no idea how this occurred, she passed her newborn screening and another screening at 18 months due to a speech delay. She was diagnosed with hearing loss back in August and has worn her hearing aids since the beginning of September, she wears them routinely throughout the day. She has a phonak sky Q presently and attends a learning private school. Developmentally she is on par with 1st graders, minus her conversational speech. I am a teacher in San Antonio, Texas so I get a chance to interact and see kids from all across the spectrum. Here are my questions thank in advance

1. My biggest concern is that she routinely seems to ask "what" routinely for clarification, we have been to the audiologist four times now and she's had them corrected once now. We are suppose to head back in next week. Is there something I should be asking or is this common?i Should we keep on tweeking it until the problem disappears?

2. She complains that her ears are cold, has anyone else heard of this?

3. Her hearing seems to have gotten worse without her hearing aids in or am I just being to analytical as her mind is getting adjusted to hearing with the amplifier? Like glasses

4. How long of an adjustment period is there? Some days my wife and I think that she is really getting adjusted and then other days it seems as if there is very little consistency.

Thanks in advance

Lots of people with hearing loss have problems accessing speech even with hearing aids. Damaged nerves can have blank spots withSNHL. It's not like a conductive loss.

As for hearing worsening, it obviously already was since she passed the newborn screen.