Greetings All from Memphis!

JonNena

Reaction score
Greetings all! My name is Jon and I am from Memphis. I am hearing, but am involved in the deaf community and have been for some time now. In as short of a version as I can give...

I am a police officer and once took a sign language class offered to our agency MANY years ago. About a year after the class, I married the teacher who had been an interpreter for a number of years. Five years after that, we had a son who was born deaf. He is now 8 and his deafness hasn't slowed him down a bit! He uses hearing aids and does pretty well with them, but also uses a good bit of sign and works with a deaf mentor on a somewhat regular basis. I am on the Board of Directors at our local non-profit deaf service center and operate as the Public Safety Liaison.

Welcome Jon

Hope you well check out P. I. P. (Positive Interaction Program) and set up a group for your police department to share and communicate with the deaf of Memphis.

He is now 8 and his deafness hasn't slowed him down a bit! He uses hearing aids and does pretty well with them, but also uses a good bit of sign and works with a deaf mentor on a somewhat regular basis
YAY!!!!
Are you guys hooked up with Ameircan society for deaf Children? American Society for Deaf Children - Home
What about Tennesse school for the deaf? !Tennessee School for the Deaf
There's a listing of summer camps at TSD!!!!

YAY!!!!
Are you guys hooked up with Ameircan society for deaf Children? American Society for Deaf Children - Home
What about Tennesse school for the deaf? !Tennessee School for the Deaf
There's a listing of summer camps at TSD!!!!