Full Inclusion

Tanson

Reaction score
Hello Everyone My name is Tanner ... I`m learning about individuals with a disability/expectionality children. I would like your thought's about Full Inclusion of the deaf culture or hard of hearing individuals in the mainstream classroom.

Hello Everyone My name is Tanner ... I'm a student in the E.A (Education Assistant) program learning about individuals with a disability/expectionality children. I would like your thought's about Full Inclusion of the deaf culture or hard of hearing individuals in the mainstream classroom.
There are already huge amounts of answers and debate in this forum on your specific question. That is the reason the thread I am posting for you to read was created.

http://www.alldeaf.com/introduce-yo...iews-questions-surveys-please-read-first.html

Tanson, overall inclusion is a piece of shit. It's just a bunch of rhetoric to pander to parents of kids with cogntive disabilties, who act if you suggest that their kid might do better in a specialized classroom or school, that you're telling them to go back to Willowbrook.
As for inclusion of dhh kids specificly....Let me put it this way. Most mainstream teachers, including sped teachers have little to no training with how to teach kids with classic/low incidence disabilties.
Yes, inclusion needs to be an option, but so do other options ranging from seperate schools (which may or may not be residental), to specialized classes and so on.

I only have one thought about mainstreaming for deaf/hoh children...

NO!

My 11 yo SSD son has always been mainstreamed, except for speech therapy a few times a week. Since he's both hearing and deaf, this seemed the best route for him. This is certainly NOT the best route for every child or every family. If he did not have a fully hearing ear, I don't know how happy we'd be with it.

Welcome! I'm new too, looks like a great site :)