Choosing from Single Sided Deafness SSD hearing aid options

Tommy Data

Reaction score
Hoping to find out how others have dealt with single sided deafness.
I actually have had this since a young child, but now at age 60 my good ear is not so good.
I will need some sort of hearing aid, it is really affecting me at work. I am a software engineer, and often attend meetings in conference rooms.

I had used a Telex wireless CROS in the late 80s, but didn't like it:
- CRT monitors caused interference, so couldn't use it much of the time at work.
- the earpiece in my good ear impacted that hearing too much.
But now we have LCD monitors and I will probably have an earpiece in my good ear anyway.

These are the options I know of:
- an aid for my good ear only. (my insurance will cover this, probably none of the other options)
- BICROS hearing aid.
- BAHA bone attached hearing aid.
Not sure if I would go through the surgery.
My current insurance does not cover, outrageously expensive.
Sounds like Medicare would cover. So I could do something else for 4 years until Medicare could kick in.
- Soundbite. I have not hear enough of peoples experience with this. Possibly would be within my price range. Is it less than $2000? Only one provider in my area.
- Do they still make the aids that are part of your glasses? Probably would only do if they could attach to my own glasses.

How have others dealt with this?
Any thoughts or experiences are very welcome!

Interesting that I have been pretty adjusted to SSD for 55+ years. Now with probably mild hearing loss in my good ear, I am very frustrated.

Thank you

See if you can get a trial of a BiCROS - they're MUCH better than they used to be (Phonak makes good ones).

There is also a softband BAHA that you might want to try - at least then you can say you tried it! Also , there are people who never have the BAHA surgically implanted, they just use the softband.

Thank you, Anij.