Auslan Student

Pinkerbelle

Reaction score
Hello :wave:

I'm an Auslan student hoping to meet and form friendship with Deaf and Hoh People. If there is anyone out there looking for a few laughs at the expense of my extremely underdeveloped understanding of the deaf culture and signing, feel free to say hello!

Elle

Hi Elle,
There's some deaf do in NSW. I think there's a deaf club in North Ryde.
Anyway, have a great time learning Auslan. :)

Why hello fellow auslan student. Which level are you in? First year? Second? Do spill.
btw, I am from canberra, welcome to AD!

Hi Hi! Thanks for the welcome Jclarke and Miss Delectable! Am currently in second year but am teaching myself on the side so that I may be able to interpret within the next 3 years!!! Peachy keen!

Hi Hi! Thanks for the welcome Jclarke and Miss Delectable! Am currently in second year but am teaching myself on the side so that I may be able to interpret within the next 3 years!!! Peachy keen!
second year, very nice.
you have a sign name?

Sorry, I meant that I could sign "I would, How far are you?"
I would say that I could sign with someone if they didn't go to fast.
I'm currently teaching myself to translate childrens books into sign. Eg: using the correct syntax, condensing sentences and using visual displays to explain large paragraphs rather than sign them word for word.

Do you think i'm heading in the right direction for someone wanting to build up their skills?
Do you have any suggestions on what else i might do to become a better signer??

Sorry, I meant that I could sign "I would, How far are you?"
I would say that I could sign with someone if they didn't go to fast.
I'm currently teaching myself to translate childrens books into sign. Eg: using the correct syntax, condensing sentences and using visual displays to explain large paragraphs rather than sign them word for word.

Do you think i'm heading in the right direction for someone wanting to build up their skills?